Reviews

Thank you so much for stopping by and checking out my work. Here is what some of my past clients have to say about their experience working with me. I hope to hear from you too!

Joe is an amazing talent and made our engagement and wedding photos one of the most memorable parts of our wedding. His work is absolutely stunning, and truly captured the essence of our wedding. Above all, he is incredibly personable and all of our guests raved about how wonderful and friendly he was. He is worth every penny!

yasmin & michael, october 2016

I can sum up our experience with Joe in one word – Phenomenal! Joe came highly recommended and after seeing his work online and meeting with him in person, we knew he was the photographer for us. Meeting him and having him photograph our engagement, bridal and wedding portraits was the best decision ever. Joe is easy-going and makes you feel relaxed even in the most unnatural of positions. Not only did everyone look fantastic, but Joe’s keen eye and creativity made for some truly one-of-a-kind shots! My best advice is to book Joe early, he is in high demand and worth every penny!

toni & kevin, october 2016

My wife fell in love with the photography from one of Joe’s other weddings at our venue and booked him right away — it was literally the first thing she did. We didn’t do engagement pictures, so we didn’t actually meet him until about a month before the wedding, but he immediately assured us both that he knew what he was doing and the day would go great. At our wedding, he got along well with everyone and was still making people laugh at the end of an eleven hour day. The pictures arrived very quickly and are absolutely stunning! You won’t find a better wedding photographer than Joe.

mary pat & jonathan, september 2016

As the previous reviews have already said, Joe has an incredible eye for taking amazing photos! He was able to capture the raw emotion throughout the entire wedding. In fact, he had captured sentimental moments I had forgotten even happened! For example, after we said our vows and were walking out of the chapel, we both looked down at my husband’s ring and shared a moment where we thought, wow, we’re finally married! I completely forgot we had even done that, but Joe captured it perfectly. Every photo brings you back to that exact point in time. I read that in the reviews but didn’t fully understand it until I saw my own photos. I love looking through them!

Joe is so charming and talented! Just let him work his magic and you’ll definitely fall in love with everything he gives you. It was wonderful to be able to be so hands off, and know that the end product would be everything we hoped for and more.

And as a side note, if you’re getting married at Duke, I don’t think any other photographer (or anyone period) knows Duke Gardens as well as Joe. I definitely recommend working with Joe for your wedding photography needs!

angel & jeff, august 2016

Incredible photographer, captured every moment we desired! We are so, so happy with our photos, and so many of our friends and family fell in love with the shots Joe captured. Joe is also incredibly easy going and made us feel super comfortable, I would highly recommend Joe for your big day!!

joyce & ross, august 2016

Everyone who sees pictures of the day of our wedding has a similar exclamation – “No one has wedding pictures like this! These are incredible!” We were so fortunate to stumble across Joe online. My fiancee and I were instantly smitten with his aesthetic. If there was one thing we knew we didn’t want on our wedding day, it was cheesy, posed photos. I’m happy to say we got nothing of the sort. Instead we were met with shots of our day that took into consideration the surrounding we were in and that found a way to capture the scope and emotion of our day.
Joe was an absolute professional. He truly cared about getting to know us and hearing what we wanted. He also has a great sense of humor. He put up with me talking through most of the shots and still managed to get beautiful images!
We couldn’t be happier with our photos. Without any hesitation I’d recommend Joe. From initial phone call to delivery of the images, the process was smooth and easy.

jade & frank, july 2016

There are not enough positive words to describe Joe’s talent. Finding an excellent photographer was my first priority after the excitement getting engaged settled down. I wanted someone that was flexible to work with what kind of photos/memories I wanted to have of my wedding after it was all over. He was the first photographer I talked to and knew right away that I needed to have him shoot my engagement, bridal, and wedding photos. His eye to capture the beauty of any setting is unbelievable. I loved every single one of my pictures from Joe. When I see all my photos from Joe, I can’t help but to smile as I relive every emotion of the wedding process.

tina & dan, april 2016

 

Joe made our wedding day perfect. I don’t enjoy posing for pictures and wanted my wedding photos to capture the emotion and the love of the day. Joe did exactly that. He seemed to capture every meaningful glance – between us and between our guests. He covered all of the laughter and dancing, just the beauty of the day. Everyone has commented on our photos being incredible and couples it with, “How did he do that? I never remember him being underfoot!” Joe made us relax and we had a lot of fun working with him, I cannot recommend him enough for your photography needs.

kate & luke, may 2016

 

Joe was absolutely phenomenal. We trusted him to capture our special day, and he did so in spectacular fashion. He was aware, detailed, and very available. He met all of our requests eloquently and was a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend him for any sort of photography needs. He has a very good eye, and is quite creative with his approach. We couldn’t have asked for anything more!

nicole & brendan, june 2016

 

We loved working with Joe both for our engagement photos and for our wedding. He helped to make our wedding run very smoothly so that we could spend our time just enjoying the day. The photos are beautiful and exceeded all our expectations.

kathryn & justin, june 2016

We had the experience of a lifetime with Joe! We had both our engagement and wedding photos shot by him and he made us look like models! The energy and flow of the entire process was so easy and seamless, nothing forced. He knew what he was working with and caught all the best angles, scenery, and OMG lighting, making us look like something out of a magazine. We just got back our wedding photos and we really didn’t know what to expect because this is us in a completely different element… and we are ECSTATIC. He caught all the moments that were special and we get to relive each beloved moment, even ones we forgot. Thanks again Joe we have memories for a lifetime that will forever be loved.

raine & chasity, march 2016

 

My husband and I fell in love with Joe Payne’s documentary style photographs on a photojournalist site. We were enamored with how he perfectly captured expressions and emotions in his pieces, as we were not fond of the “posed” photos that other wedding photographers so frequently exhibit.

During our wedding day, Joe Payne floated about in the background, snapping photos as the day progressed–it was so awesome to see him contorting himself to capture unique angles or dropping on to the floor to get a certain perspective. My husband and I aren’t used to being the center of attention for photos, which made for some hilarious moments as Joe would instruct us to interact around our venue. Joe made us feel super comfortable in front of the lens and we loved making him laugh (my husband and I are super silly people). He truly is a diamond in the rough.

Joe Payne is brilliant at artistically directing and capturing his shots, and isn’t afraid to come into the foreground to make sure he can accurately snap his subjects (like shooing random kids running around on the golf course).

My husband and I’s families have showered the photos with endless compliments–and both of our moms were absolutely IN LOVE with all of Joe’s work. Hiring Joe Payne as your wedding photographer is the best investment you can make as a couple! We’d hire him again in a heartbeat!

ashley & matt, october 2015

 

Joe was able to come last minute to do me and my husband’s wedding photos. Not only did we love the photographs but we had an awesome time taking them. I’ve been in weddings where photos were very structured and boring but Joe made it a lot of fun and we are very happy with the results. Thanks a bunch Joe!

alexandra & trent, april 2016

mandolin raleigh wedding photography

Joe was an absolute pleasure to work with! He made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Joe took the time to get to know us and captured so many wonderful moments from our engagement photos, to my bridal portraits, and of course on the day of the wedding. Joe’s images stood out from every other photographer and his composition is 2nd to none.

He went above and beyond for us and we can’t wait to work with him again for future photography needs!

jackie & rob, february 2016

duke chapel wedding photography

Joe was absolutely wonderful as our wedding photographer. Having seen some of his photos, we knew he had a gift for capturing moments, not just the mechanics of the day. We have so many stunning photos–and his documentary style was just what we were hoping to have for our wedding. He has a keen eye for drama, contrast, and beautiful scenery. My husband and I ran with Joe across a golf course upon arriving at our reception to capture some amazing sunset photos. He’s stellar! Having presided at countless weddings at Duke University Chapel, I’m also aware how very popular he is among all those who have selected him. We loved having him as our photographer.

megan & adam, november 2014

Our experience working with Joe was excellent and we would highly recommend him to anybody who demands perfection. He has a fierce attention to detail and a unique ability to capture the beauty of a moment as it materializes. We were fortunate to have Joe take our engagement photos as well as our wedding day and for each session he made every effort to help us enjoy the moment, which is abundantly evident in the finished product. Joe has a wonderful personality and we were instantly drawn to working with him. He makes the process fun and relaxing which was so helpful for us. On the day of our wedding, Joe’s dedication and passion for photography was never more present. He spent over twelve hours with us and our family taking pictures and capturing the special moments that mean everything on such a joyous occasion. His tireless efforts on our wedding day showed just how much of an investment Joe had made in us and there is not nearly enough ways to express our gratitude

perciliz & brendan, october 2015

If you’re looking for a photographer… STOP HERE!!! You’ve found him! =)

Joe is AMAZING!!!! He was everything I ever could have asked for in a photographer and then some! I saw his pictures online and fell in love with them. I called him to feel him out and I remember at the end of our conversation I knew without a doubt that he was the photograph I wanted. He is not only personable and knowledgeable but he sticks to his values which I really appreciated. During our first conversation conversation, I mentioned how I really wanted to try to get a couple sunset pictures if we could and he found out what time the sun would set on my wedding day and what time would be best to try to take some sunset pictures. I’m sure it was as easy as plugging my wedding date into google, but I really liked his approach on it (and our sunset pictures…. INCREDIBLE!!!)
After seeing his picture and talking with Joe, he was hired! I was telling everyone that if I could get one picture like the ones that were on his blog I’d be a happy camper!
Now my wedding day… Joe is extremely professional and friendly. You can sense his love and passion for what he does. He is willing to climb or lay down on the ground to get the shot that he’s looking for too! He’s like a sniper of a photographer, he just has an eye for it and runs with it. Joe made me feel so comfortable and confident in knowing that he was capturing our day for us. The pictures are beyond incredible! He gives you some ‘sneak peeks’ shortly after your wedding which is great and WOW is all I have to say about the pictures! I’ve definitely gotten the ‘picture like the website’ that I was hoping for and then some. My expectations have been far exceeded!!! I can honestly relive my entree wedding day flipping through my pictures.
I would recommend Joe to anyone and everyone that wants a photographer that loves and cares about what he is doing and is incredible at it! Joe truly enjoys being a part of your wedding and knows how important it is. He really was a sniper behind the camera; he was behind the scenes capturing your day yet right there for you if you had any questions.
Joe, thank you sooooo much for documenting our wedding day for us and doing what you love to do. We loveeee our pictures!! Oh and btw I think I’ll tell Wayne, ‘seize your wife mate’ forever ? haha thank you again for everything!!!

*** I would recommend Joe to anyone and everyone!! He is an outstanding photographer and person all around!! I promise you won’t be disappointed! He was well worth every penny!
Hiring Joe was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made and I will cherish the pictures he captured for me forever!
I promise he is the photographer you want!

nicole & wayne, september 2016

We recently were married at the Angus Barn Pavilions in Raleigh and after receiving our wedding photos, we are ecstatic that we chose Joe Payne as our wedding photographer. Joe Payne truly captures the emotions of your wedding and creates beautiful photos. Moreover, his documentary style allows you to relax while he takes photos, which was very important to us. First, we had a rainy day for our engagement session but Joe managed to keep a positive attitude and survive the rain with us. That showed us how dedicated he is to pleasing the couple and our crazy schedule at the time. On our wedding day, Joe showed up several hours before the wedding. This was really impressive to us that he would arrive any time we wanted and there was no extra fee. I had spoken to many photographers who would be present for a maximum amount of time only without having to pay extra. He was present while I was getting ready with my bridesmaids but also blended in so we could just relax. The wedding photos were similar. He very efficiently took our posed photos so that we could enjoy our wedding day. Our friends and family really enjoyed the photos that captured the emotions of the moment. I feel like we have a wide variety of photos including posed shots, candid shots (with some smiles and some tears), action shots (including many dance floor shots very popular amongst our friends) and even some panoramic including across the lake at the angus barn shots! One of my favorite photos is when he captured my husband and me laughing during our vows. We only laughed for a few seconds but now we have photo of that perfect moment forever. I would highly recommend Joe Payne to anyone getting married in the triangle area. Thanks Joe!

annie & grant, august 2015

Joe Payne was the very first vendor my husband and I selected for our wedding and engagement photography. We found him after I saw the breath-taking wedding photos from a recently wed friend on Facebook. After stalking, I mean admiring her photos, I contacted her about her photographer and she gave a glowing review. Right away, we got in touch with Joe and were immediately impressed by his creative vision, responsiveness, and endearing British accent.

We had the pleasure of working with Joe for three events — our engagement shoot, rehearsal brunch, and of course, our wedding. Joe went above and beyond to exceed our expectations every time! Take our engagement shoot, as an example. My husband and I knew we wanted to take pictures at Duke University, our alma mater — but that was where our vision ended. Luckily, Joe helped us find unique and beautiful locations across the campus and Sarah P Duke Gardens, suggested poses, and overall helped two camera-shy people feel super comfortable. We didn’t have to think about a thing during our shoot besides having fun.

Joe is a great photographer…his work really does speak for itself. One thing that’s not as apparent from his photographs is his awesome attitude. Joe is so patient and thoughtful. This was key for photographing our large wedding with two large sets of families. Despite all the craziness that comes with a 200 person wedding, Joe made sure to capture all the special moments with all of our special people. It was even Joe’s idea to whisk my husband and I to a park near our venue to get some really beautiful pictures of us in an intimate setting — some of my favorite pictures of the day.

When we got our edited photos back after only a few short weeks, it felt like Christmas! As we viewed our pictures, we smiled, laughed, cried, and cheered. Joe really captured the “soul” of our day with his photo journalistic style and allowed us to relive our wedding. In short, hire this man — you won’t regret it!

britney & jerald, august 2015

Joe Payne is a true artist and a fabulous person to boot. My (now) husband and I scoured the web searching for the best photographer to document our wedding. Because we had a destination wedding, we even looked outside of the Triangle. When we found Joe’s portfolio, we saw that his photos were unique and vivid. They went beyond typical wedding photos– each one captured the environment and emotions at just the right moment in time. When we first contacted Joe for engagement portraits, we immediately felt at ease and wanted him to shoot our wedding. After Joe did my bridal portraits we were even more impressed. He made me feel comfortable and produced photos that were better than I could have hoped for. Inviting Joe to document our wedding was a major commitment. Joe joined our families for an intimate wedding in Jamaica. He traveled with my family and spent nearly a week with us, photographing everything from a family swim with dolphins, to the rehearsal dinner, wedding events, and a day-after hike in wedding attire to a waterfall. Joe was professional and fun. He took time to scope out potential shoot locations and was willing to get wet and dirty to get the best shot. We were extremely impressed with the way he was friendly and yet surprisingly invisible– he is a magician at finding just the right nook, cranny, tree, pier, angle, boulder, or hill from which to shoot. And since he’s so good at coordinating with the resort staff, (including videographers) we could enjoy the wedding, stress-free. But the real amazement came when we received our photos. We were in awe! Every single image is phenomenal. Joe captured the expressions and emotions that we always want to remember. He photographed the quiet, intimate moments spent with our families perfectly. He captured the fun, festive time after the wedding with the same ease. Joe is masterful at crafting beautiful art and memories with his photos. Joe is without a doubt the most valuable investment that we made on our wedding. Thank you, Joe!

Leah & Evan, July 2015

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Joe Payne. Joe did our engagement and wedding photos and he went above and beyond to make everything perfect. Not only is Joe a truly great person to work with but his photos are amazing! Joe was with me the entire day of our wedding from 9am to 11pm. He even came down the day before to check out where the reception would be and also took the time to take all the detail pictures of my dress, the rings, my shoes, garter, etc. The day of the wedding Joe was so easy going and completely worked with us on our schedule. At the reception Joe blended in with all the guests and you weren’t even aware he was there taking pictures. He is so personable. Everyone loved him! We got back our pictures in a very timely manner and we were just blown away. They are so so beautiful and Joe caught so many great shots. Our pictures truly tell the story of our day. He caught so many sweet moments, fun moments, and so much love. The pictures were everything we had hoped for. We would highly recommend Joe to any couple who wants to perfectly capture their big day.

 

Rachel & Joe, June 2015

My experience with Joe Payne was absolutely amazing!!! I couldn’t ask for a better photographer for our wedding day and engagement session. As soon as I saw his work I knew he was the photographer for us! I contacted him immediately to meet. We decided to do the engagement photo session, so glad we did!! Our pictures are EPIC! Everyone on social media went wild for our engagement pictures at the cotton fields. Joe made us feel extremely comfortable and he was very easy/fun to work with. Once I saw the pictures I knew our wedding pictures were going to be incredible. Joe met at the venue a few months before which was extremely helpful. We cooresponded often via email, he was always very responsive to any questions I had. The entire process with Joe was stress-free! Come wedding day, Joe brought his assistant and started his magic. Joe captures emotions so artistically. He is great with lighting and finding that perfect, creative shot! He is seriously brilliant! Joe is extremely professional and personable. I would Highly HIGHLY recommend him for your upcoming wedding, you will not be disappointed and it’s worth every penny! I can’t imagine anyone else being our photographer, it just felt right! If you are having second thoughts, DON’T- Book Joe! After the food is eaten, the drinks are drank, the flowers die and the DJ turn table turns off- all you have are your pictures! I thank you Joe for capturing our special day and making our wedding look like a fairy tale!

Kelly & Cameron, May 2015

Duke Chapel Wedding Photography Couple Laughing Aisle

Every time my mom looks at the photos from my wedding, she repeats that Joe is such an artist, which is the perfect way to describe our experience with him. The photos from our engagement shoot, my bridal portraits, and our wedding are absolutely phenomenal. While my husband is very comfortable having pictures taken, I am a complete camera-phobe, but you’d have no idea from the beautiful shots that Joe captured! In addition, he was fabulously personable and patient with my family (very important!). While we did run into a couple snafus with scheduling, Joe went really out of his way to make it up to us. Overall, he managed to capture our joy and excitement, and the pictures are truly breathtaking.

Rachel & Kevin, December 2015

It’s really our great pleasure to have Joe as our wedding photographer. We were very impressed by his professionalism, efficiency, humor, and most of all, amazing photos! He has the great ability to catch the important moments without letting you realize he exists. On the wedding day, Joe really devoted the whole day into this, totally unlimited. He even came earlier than the time we asked him to do, in order to catch every tiny moments. Joe gave all the photos to us in a very timely manner. They are all gorgeous. You can tell he really put a lot of efforts into digital editing – editing each photo individually based on the subject, light, atmosphere, etc, while many other photographers only use one or two pre-settings for all the photos. We really had a great time with Joe, and we felt very lucky to have him as our wedding photographer.

Joanna & Shenduo, April 2015

Wedding portrait of newlyweds outside Nasher Museum in Durham, NC incorporating shadows from the structure's architecture

We were introduced to Joe Payne through the Duke Chapel suggested wedding photographer list. He came highly recommended from the wedding chapel coordinator and we are so happy with our decision to have Joe do our wedding photography. Not only was Joe a joy to be around on our wedding day, His photos completely captured our feelings and memories of the day in a fantastic way. Prior to our wedding Joe was very accessible for meetings and discussion of our plan for our wedding day. We even had a Skype meeting as we are not local to Raleigh. He offered suggestions on an approach to photos for Duke chapel’s very strict time schedule and were able to get all the photos we wanted at the chapel in the time we had. After our ceremony we visited Doris Duke Gardens for photos of our bridal party and just us. The photo session was split in a way that our bridal party was able to head back to freshen up before the reception while my husband and I had a private shoot with Joe. We didn’t know until it happened how important this time was to be alone and have fun taking photos with Joe without the rest of the bridal party. He was very easy to take direction from and captured the beauty of the garden and us in a very natural and comfortable way. He heard our requests prior to the wedding day and got all the photos we requested and blew us away with how they came out. At our reception Joe found very interesting and beautiful ways to capture our guests enjoying the reception and highlighted the beauty and uniqueness of the Nasher in each photo. Joe blended in with our guests at the reception and captured many great shots. Joe has great vision and knows what shots will be amazing and they were all amazing. He frames photos beautifully in the architecture of each space and the light quality was amazing every time. We couldn’t have been happier with his work and talent. Joe also sent us our photos very quickly after our event and had a good balance of black and white and color photos. We would highly recommend Joe to any bride and groom for their wedding to get the best photos of your day and an extra enjoyable guest at your wedding!

Michelle & Jonathan, March 2015

Well, the bride said “Phenomenal!” … and as we know – THAT is the most important thing! As father of the bride, and a photographer (hack), I enjoyed observing the wedding photographer selection process, occasionally when asked, giving input. It’s quite interesting – seeing what makes a bride’s preference. I also enjoyed watching Joe work at the wedding. He was professional throughout – and clearly knew what he needed to have to complete the assignment. The bride had very few “must haves,” and wanted to give as much creative freedom as possible. Joe made the most of the opportunity. Not too long after the wedding, came the teasers for Facebook. That created a nice buzz, and lots of positive anticipation. When the entire shot selection rolled out, there were lots of positive comments, oohs and ahhhs.. Some nice captures, as well as some edgy compositions that reflected the couples personalities quite well. Expectations were high in advance of the wedding – and Joe delivered! Great job Mr. Payne – and thanks for creating some lifelong memories!

Bruce (The Father of the Bride), October 2014

Working with Joe was everything we hoped for in a wedding photographer and more. He helped us to maintain a sense of humor throughout the day (and managed to corral our wedding party/ family). He was able to capture our wedding day in an unobtrusive way with a brilliant combination of artistic style, documentary style, and skillful posing (rarely-if needed). As an added bonus- he made us look good (and our wedding party too)! :) :) I was so happy that he was really able to capture the “essence” of our day as well as our personalities! He was wonderful to work with, we got our pictures back quickly, and his eye is impeccable!

Nichole and Eric, October 2014

Joe was a pleasure to work with on our wedding day! My husband and I are both a bit camera shy and he made us feel instantly comfortable. We got a great feel of how he worked before the day during our engagement shoot. Because of that, we felt comfortable with what we should be expecting on the wedding day and had a relationship with him beforehand.

Joe shot our rehearsal dinner and wedding day and did a spectacular job. He had a way of being with us so he didn’t miss a moment without making us feel like we were being followed. Joe focused on catching natural moments – not the moments that are staged and posed. I was impressed that Joe, and his assistant, Jimmy, were constantly working with the light and making the most of every situation.

Not only is Joe a photographer that knows what he needs and what he needs to do to get beautiful photos, but he was such a pleasant person to have around. He was focused and ready to get the job done, but not stuffy or awkward to be around. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

Jessica and Joshua, August 2014

We chose Joe as our wedding photographer and given the chance I would choose him again. He was wonderful to work with and took amazing pictures. He knows what he is doing and he takes his pictures without you feeling stressed or nervous. In the future, we will use Joe as our photographer for important family moments.

Alexandra and John, August 2014

Joe captured our wedding day beautifully! We loved his photojournalistic approach — the photos really told the story of the day. He was personable, professional, and accommodating in all our requests. I’d especially recommend Joe for weddings at Duke Chapel, as he was able to navigate the Chapel’s rules and time constraints for wedding photography.

Lexi and Tom, August 2014

My sister asked me to help find her a photographer for her wedding. As a wedding photographer myself I knew how important it was to find the perfect one to capture her day. Joe exceeded my expectations in his professionalism, creativity and talent. He was really friendly and easy to work with. The photos came out gorgeous with a touch of timeless elegance. My family and I are very happy with everything Joe did for us and I would highly recommend him for you!

Anya (wedding photographer), June 2014

Joe is awesome! Joe was easy to get in touch with, flexible, and professional throughout the entire process, from our engagement shoot to prepping for our wedding day. He bent over backwards to make sure that our wedding photos were perfect. We would definitely recommend Joe to other couples searching for the perfect wedding photographer.

Brianna and Chris, July 2014

As soon as you meet Joe Payne you’ll fall in love with his cheerful personality and awesome British accent to go along with it! His work is certainly top of the line! As a wedding planner, I’ve had the pleasure to be on both sides of the fence. Joe has captured amazing head shots for my business needs that I couldn’t have been more pleased with! As vendor partners, Joe has captured stunning, mouth dropping, magazine worthy photos for my clients!! These days it seems as if “photographers” come a dime a dozen. That is why I stress to my clients the importance of a PROFESSIONAL and TALENTED photographer such as Joe! What I love most about Joe is that he doesn’t feel the need to keep up with the “Pinterest Trends.” He is confident in his work. His journalistic style presents classic photos that are sure to last a lifetime. For an amazing experience and amazing photos to show for it, I would highly recommend Joe Payne Photography!

Cheylaina (wedding planner), June 2014

I’m more than happy with my experience with Joe. A good photographer can capture emotions and translate them into an image. ‘It’s wonderful to work with a “stress-free” photographer. He can maximize time, make you comfortable and guide you so you get the exactly results that you are looking for. I have seen and following Joe’s work through the internet and I always wondered what would it be like to have some pictures taken by him. I finally got a chance and I am beyond excited and happy with the pictures we got. I didn’t have much time available or a big preparation, however the pictures came out fantastic! He made me feel so special and so proud of myself. It was totally worth it. I can’t wait to do it again. Words can’t express what an image can say.

Nivia, June 2014

I can’t say enough positive things about Joe! All of the people who have seen our wedding pictures absolutely rave about how incredible our photographer was! Joe was very professional and captured all of they key moments during the ceremony and the reception. I 100% recommend him to anybody looking for exceptional photographs of their special event. Reasonably priced and very accessible throughout the planning process. Loved him!!!

Imara-Safi and Preston, June 2014

Choosing Joe for our engagement and wedding photos was the best decision we made for our wedding! Photos were a big deal for us and we really did our research when looking for Raleigh wedding photographers. After initially emailing with Joe, we thought he was out of our price range and weren’t sure we were going to work with him, even though we loved his work. Joe called us a few days after we initially contacted him and worked with us to accommodate both what we wanted and our budget and I couldn’t be happier with how everything turned out! Joe is an extremely talented photographer, easy to work with, prompt, and professional. He knows how to make you feel comfortable and how to get the best photos possible. He worked with us throughout the planning process to make sure he understood what type of wedding we were having and what we wanted out of our photographs. Our photographs are amazing and I am so glad we will have them forever to remember our wedding day! Joe’s work speaks for itself, but I would recommend Joe to any newly engaged couple!

Tara and Seth, March 2014

Joe Payne is awesome. There is no other way to describe it. Our photos are absolutely amazing and Joe was so wonderful in working with us. Joe really took the time to get to know my wife and I and this really made his pictures shine. Another huge plus was that during the wedding and reception, I never even noticed him working – a great thing! Joe did an outstanding job of just letting moments happen and he captured them in such a beautiful way. I highly recommend him!

Lindsey and Michael, October 2013

Where do I even begin to praise Joe and his work. He’s an incredible photographer and so down to earth. His work definitely speaks for itself. I fell in love with his work the moment I saw them on his website and I am so glad that he was able to photograph our wedding. I very highly recommend any couple to have him as your photographer. His work is amazing and he’s amazing to work with!

Deniz and Robbie, July 2013

The photography was probably one of the parts of our wedding that my fiancé and I worried about the most, since neither of us likes having our picture taken. But as soon as I started talking to Joe and saw some of his work, I started feeling a lot better about the whole thing. It was a pleasure working with him for almost an entire year during the planning process, and I enjoyed getting to know him along the way, too! Joe was so patient during my bridal portrait session and did a great job getting me to relax. I thought that he did a wonderful job on the day of our wedding, too. I don’t know how he managed to capture so many memorable moments, especially because he was so unobtrusive. I know my bridesmaids particularly enjoyed working with him, and all of us will happily recommend him to any friends who get married in the Triangle area. Joe’s creativity and wonderful eye for photography definitely show in our wedding pictures! We absolutely love them and know our family and friends will, too. Joe went above and beyond, and we could not have asked for a better photographer or a better experience!

Claire and Zach, June 2013

I love Joe! He seemed to be able to read my mind b/c he was able to give me all of the pictures I wanted without having to ask. He shot my engagement pictures with my fiance, my bridal portraits and was with us for 8 hours on the wedding day…. and unless he was taking formal pictures of us at the wedding, I rarely noticed he was around. The quality and content of the pictures are superb. I’ve gotten so many compliments on my pictures, with so many different friends saying they were the best wedding pictures they had ever seen. Joe was outrageously professional, very responsive and after spending so much time with him I consider him a friend. If I ever need professional pictures taken in the future, he is the first and only person I will call. BOOK HIM!!!!

Cassie and John, June 2013

Joe was such an amazing photographer to work with. My husband and I aren’t huge camera people and he made us feel so natural and comfortable with him. He has a such a great personality, so easy going and fun to work with. We love his style of photography and how he captured our day! The photos he took are absolutely beautiful! I was shocked when we had all the photos from our wedding about a week after we returned from our honeymoon! He does amazing work and was worth every penny and then some! I would highly recommend him to any couple getting married! I hope we have an opportunity to use him again!

Jessica and Bo, March 2013

Picking Joe Payne as our photographer was one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning. I can’t say enough great things about him and his work. When we initially met, we had a few drinks together and he explained his style and prices and was very straightforward. He even altered one of his packages for us so we could get exactly what we wanted. He is professional, prompt and takes his work very seriously. Joe took my bridal portraits a month before the wedding and he did a great job keeping me comfortable and smiling throughout the session. He returned photos to us in record time and we were able to pick pictures to print before the wedding. Joe stayed in close contact with us throughout the planning process and made sure we were all on the same page for the day of the wedding. And we were. Everything was perfect. The pictures from the wedding are absolutely magnificent. I can’t stop looking at them! The moments he captured from the ceremony and the reception are so special and real. I know Joe’s photos will keep us smiling and remembering our big day for the rest of our lives. I would highly recommend him to any bride!

Katie and Jeremy, November 2012

My husband is a professional videographer, and we wanted beautiful photos that would capture our special day in a candid way. Joe is a wonderful artist, and we couldn’t be happier with our engagement and wedding photos. They are so beautiful and captured many special moments of the day. Joe is relaxed and friendly but extremely professional. During the planning process, he was very helpful with any questions I had, and he was always quick with communications. On the day of the wedding, he even gave us a ride from the ceremony to the picture taking site. It was so great to have Joe as our wedding photographer, and I highly recommend him. You won’t be disappointed!

Akiko and Jordan, October 2012

They say that your wedding day is perhaps the one day in your life when it is all about you. Joe Payne really made us feel like our day was indeed all about us. After our initial meeting with Joe, we did an engagement photo shoot. We walked around the Duke Gardens (where our reception was held) and Joe had us just talk to each other and relax. Neither of us is particularly fond of posed photos and while you may have to move a little more into the light from time to time, Joe works very hard to make everything as natural and relaxing as possible. We loved our engagement photos (we even put them in our sign in book to make a special photo album) and were confident our wedding photos would be the same. Joe did not disappoint. Our initial concern with the photographer was that he might distract us from the significance of the day; Joe was very receptive to this concern. The wedding photos were beautiful and not only captured the people, but he captures the entire scene, which adds tremendously to the impact of the photo and ultimately has allowed us to more vividly re-experience the day. Joe’s candid shots of wedding guests were also fantastic and complete the whole set of photos so that taken together we had a wonderful sense of the day. We are so glad that we found Joe and are excited to recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer.

Jacquie and Erik, September 2012

As a professional wedding photographer, I had a lot of options when it came to choosing a photographer. Joe’s photojournalistic style and adept use of light convinced me that he was the right photographer for us. I left it to my bride-to-be to make the final decision and she quickly fell in love with Joe’s photography. Every time Joe posted a new set of images on his blog, she would tell me about them and how much she liked them. She was thrilled when it was our turn and immediately shared the link to Joe’s blog with everyone! Joe’s photos speak for themselves but they cannot convey his personality and the way he conducts himself. He is very personable, unobtrusive, and was receptive to what we wanted for our photography. It was important to us to be able to enjoy our day and as requested Joe moved quickly through our formals and we were back enjoy our wedding day in its entirety. I had high expectations and Joe’s photos exceeded them as he captured all the emotion of the day just as it happened. I have now known Joe as a client and colleague and my wife and I both consider him a friend. Choose Joe as your photographer and will be forever thankful that you did!

Jessica and Peter, September 2012

My husband and I knew we had found our soul mates when we found each other. Finding Joe was the next best thing. Not only did he have great pictures in his portfolio but from the first time Mark and I sat down with Joe at Hibernian, we knew his personality was the best fit for us! He made us feel comfortable and at ease. Immediately we trusted him. After our engagement session down town Raleigh, he had by far proved to us that he was the right man for the job! He did’t make us do cheesy stuff, which we both hate, and the session flew by. Neither my husband nor I like to have our pictures taken, but there was never a time during the entire engagment session where we were wishing it would end! Joe has a remarkable talent for capturing people in the moment. All of our pictures showed us (just better looking versions), being ourselves, in the moment, and neither of us have ever taken that many good photos in our life! Before the engagement session I was nervous about how our wedding pictures would turn out. We didn’t want to spend a lot of money on pictures and then not like any of them. (neither of us are photogenic) After I saw what Joe was capable of doing, with little to no effort on our part, I knew that we could relax about the wedding day. It was so nice to finally see the moments from our wedding day that Joe had captured. He seemed to be everywhere but completely unnoticed, capturing literally-picture perfect moments! Besides his amazing ability to take once in a life time pictures, he is very efficient and had the best prices in town. Our album was ready for us the day before we returned from our honeymoon. Not many people work that hard anymore these days! Joe was truly a blessing and we WILL have him shoot every other special event in our lives.

Lisa and Mark, September 2012

We knew we wanted to hire Joe the minute we met him! He has a great personality and is fun to be around. We wanted someone who could really tell the story of our wedding in pictures since we were not hiring a videographer and he did just that! Every picture he took was not only beautiful, but captured the joy of the day. As a side note, personally I am a terrible subject for pictures because everytime I’m in front of the camera I feel awkward, so I was amazed seeing pictures of myself that made me look natural. He did a great job of making everyone feel comfortable and he honored my Mom’s only request that he not stand at the very front of the ceremony snapping pictures left and right which is a problem we had at my sister’s wedding. Her photographers took good pictures but had no concern interrupting the ceremony. All in all Joe was very professional and we could not be happier with our pictures.

Danielle and Thomas, August 2012

Working with Joe was a fantastic experience. My husband and I met him at a friend’s wedding and were sold after seeing him in action. He managed to capture the spirit of our wedding in still shots – every time we look at the photos we’re brought back to that incredibly joyous and special day. He was open to our ideas, but I think it works best when you let him do his thing – our pictures are proof. He is the consummate professional and incredibly gifted – we would hire him again in a heartbeat.

Sarah and Jonathan, June 2012

I can say it all in one word: Fantastic!!! The one aspect of my wedding I was real keen on was the photography. Since most of my family lived abroad and could not make it for the wedding, this part was crucial. I happened to see some of Joe’s pictures online and loved them. Meeting him and having him photograph our wedding was the best thing ever…I personally hate photographs and think that I look quite terrible in most of them (I know there are quite a few girls out there in my shoes), but Joe is simply a magician. Not only did everyone look picture perfect but the camera angles and the timing of those photos were incredible. My husband agrees and he used to be a docu-film maker. I still don’t know how one person could have been in so many places at once. Best decision I ever made…totally worth it!

Thelsa and Philip, June 2012

We found Joe on the internet through the Knot website and were excited that his photos really told the story of the subjects he covered. As soon as we spoke with him we knew the match was perfect. My family had a mix of family members who spoke English and Spanish and Joe knew both very well and was able to communicate with my family and make everyone comfortable. The pictures were amazing and it was incredible he did the whole event by himself. Each picture does tell its own story of the event and brings us so many good memories. He really captured the beauty of our location at Lake Lure NC (and my bride as well !!). He was on time, professional (yet fun and friendly), and really worked with us to get the best shots and processing options after the event for a great value. Too bad I won’t need and don’t plan on getting married again, but if we ever do a re-vow, we’ll give Joe a call to make sure we have the best photos possible.

Shannon and Paul, April 2012

Having a good photographer for our wedding was one of my top priorities but we had a very limited budget. Finding Joe was like striking gold! I found him online just by chance and my husband and I couldn’t be happier with our whole experience with Joe. He went above and beyond what we ever expected and was so much fun to work with. Our pictures turned out amazing! Both the engagement pictures and the wedding pictures couldn’t have been any better. I’ve seen a lot of engagement and wedding pictures that look so cheesy and posed and I knew that is not what we wanted at all. Joe’s pictures turned out so natural and he was able to capture special little moments that never could be just posed for. He also had this ability to just fade into the background. We hardly even knew he was there; he was able to keep our special moments between the two of us special and unobtrusive. But probably our favorite thing about Joe was that by the end of this he was our friend. We felt like he was a guest at our wedding, not a vendor. We really could not have asked for more or be any happier with the whole experience. Thank you Joe!!

Monica and Mark, October 2011

Joe did an excellent job photographing our rehearsal dinner and wedding. He was professional, talented and creative. He took the photos we wanted while everything to proceed as planned. Joe delivered excellent quality photos that were composed and lit superbly. I would not hesitate to choose him again or refer him to any friends looking for a photographer. He was also very easy to deal with and was flexible to make sure we had the package we needed.

Allison and Matthew, September 2011

Having Joe as the photographer at our wedding was an absolutely great decision and I would gladly hire him again in a heartbeat! He was so easy to work with and was a huge help all throughout the planning period. Our family and friends loved meeting and working with him at the wedding and we were all even happier once we saw the pictures! They pictures all look beautiful and he did a wonderful job capturing all the special moments of the day. Stephen and I couldn’t have been happier!

Christine and Stephen, August 2011

We found Joe by Wedding Wire, he has extremely good taste and he takes the most natural spontaneous pictures. He did a great job even when we got married during a very hot July evening, he stayed for the whole event to get the important moments. He is bilingual! which was a great help because all my family speaks Spanish. And the pictures came out beautifully! We are getting all types of compliments!

Ana Lucia and Jeff, July 2011

Joe managed to be everywhere at once, and nobody knew that he was there. The photos are GORGEOUS. GORGEOUS!! I keep looking through them because he captured everything; it’s like I’m going through the day all over again. Joe is incredibly personable, which is important considering that this person is with you the whole time. Did I say the photos are GORGEOUS? Yep, they are.

Candis and Terrell, June 2011

We just wanted to say thank you for photographing our wedding! We couldn’t have asked for anything better.

We truly enjoyed working with you and thanks to you the whole day went so smoothly. Our photos really are amazing, they capture our day perfectly. Your unique style truly reflected the emotions from our wedding day. You were very professional yet friendly, patient, enthusiastic, and extremely talented! We appreciated your time and talent and are tremendously grateful to you for photographing our special day.

We certainly hope to work with you again in the future and would be honored to refer you to all engaged couples! We can’t thank you enough for everything you have done for us. Thank you again and again!

Ryan and Jenna, May 2011

I love my photos. Joe did a great job on everything from the group shots to the candids. (And if you’ve seen the size of my family you’ll understand it can be a challenge.) There is such a variety in the pictures and he was able to capture the colors of fall and sunset brilliantly.

Cathy and Jimmy, October 2010

The work you have done for our wedding is absolutely superb and we are so very pleased with everything – thank you so very much Joseph!!!!! We relied on your judgement and expertise and LOVE the album and design you selected. You have a great intuition for expressing your customers’ style.

Elana and Greg, February 2010

The whole experience was so easy. You were extremely flexible with the date and time of our photo session. I loved how patient you were with the boys and just used whatever you could get from them to get great pictures. The quality of the photos are amazing. In fact, my mom took the cds to Walmart to print some out, and they would not give her the photos because they were clearly “professional” photos and they needed a copyright release. I hope to set something up with you again this fall. I love seeing all of your new photos posted. I can tell that you really love what you do.

Sarah, Patrick, Ryan and Johnny

Joe is extremely competent, artistic and professional. He has tons of patience and a unique ability to work with our ten day old daughter. Joe worked hard to understand what we wanted and constructed priceless, precious photos based on our wishes and his extensive experience; it is quickly obvious that Joe has a passion for photography, experience with children of all ages and puts customer satisfaction as his highest priority. Joe also has complete mastery of his equipment and technology; he understands how to capture the priceless moments with the digital photo taken combined with computer software to create what you are looking for.

Brad, Jennie and Isabella

My family and I have known Joe for a number of years and were thrilled when he started taking professional photos. We had him come to do our family portraits in the fall. They more than met our expectations, they were stunning! We have had so many compliments on them and how lovely the photographer must have been.

Joe, being a father himself, knew just how to interact, engage and shoot my kids for an amazing outcome! We were all comfortable and pleased with the entire experience.

Jared, Laurel, Abby and Luke

Obtaining great pictures of a 6 month old can be difficult. Joe took amazing pictures of my daughter that captured her true personality. He is an amazing photographer and I would recommend him to anyone!!!

Jennifer and Abbey

Love, love the pictures, they turned out great!! I especially like the one of the four of us, wasn’t sure about getting my picture taken, but loved how it turned out. Thank you so much.

Kerry, Rick, Drew and Anna
For more Raleigh wedding photographer reviews check out my profiles on the following sites:

Google+

Wedding Wire

The Knot

Facebook